Veteran players cop third place trophy

POSTED: 11/21/12 12:52 PM

GREAT BAY- St Maarten’s veterans’ basketball team Rebels just returned from Curacao where it participated in the 5th Annual CURASUR Masters Basketball Tournament. Eight teams representing the countries and islands of Curacao, Suriname, The Netherlands, French Guyana, St. Eustatius and St Maarten participated in the event. The tournament was officially opened and closed by the interim Prime Minister of Curacao Stanley Betrian.

The games were played at the Sentro Deport Ivo Korsou (SDK) in Brievengat, Curacao. “This tournament began 5 years ago as a friendly exchange of 40 year old basketball enthusiasts and former national basketball players from Curacao and Suriname and over the years has expanded to include teams from Holland, St. Eustatia, French Guyana,” a release from Rebels Veterans Basketball Association president Claret Connor stated.

St Maarten was represented for the first time and was able to make an immediate impact. The Rebels placed 2nd in Pool B and defeated the team from French Guyana for 3rd place overall in the tournament.

The eventual champs are the 2011 defending champs United By Basketball, a group of former national players from Holland and Suriname now residing in the Netherlands, who defeated the Favrey Boys from Suriname by 2 points to defend their title.

The Rebels recently incorporated an Association; the Rebels Veterans Basketball Association. The association which was recently incorporated intends to host a Veterans Basketball Tournament in the near future on St. Maarten.  It also aims to help develop the game of basketball and other sporting events through the organization of invitational tournaments, sporting champs, clinics, sports seminars and conferences.

Apart from Connor as president, Adolpho Pantophlet serves as secretary and Joseph Gumbs, treasurer. The other Association board members and players are Joseph Holaman, Antonio Gumbs, Roland Carty, Keith Gumbs, Sigfried Hodge, Jerrol James, Joseph Marty Williams, Joselyn Levenstone, Eversley Baptist, Louis Sendar and Darryl Hodge.


Did you like this? Share it:
Veteran players cop third place trophy by

What do you say? Leave a comment